Chapel of the Chimes in Hayward offers a complete selection of
Funeral, Memorial, Burial, and Cremation Services. With a 61 acre
cemetery, we serve all faiths and cater to all cultural traditions.

Finding the Right Memorial for a Loved One

Memorial Park in Hayward

If you’re planning a funeral or cremation service and want to dedicate a memorial to your lost loved one, you have many options to choose from. The memorial should be a fitting tribute to your loved one’s life, passions, and pursuits. You can choose a very simple design, or a complex work of art, depending upon what you think your loved one would most appreciate.

If you choose a simple, flat plaque or gravestone, it can be used to mark the burial plot where your loved one’s casket or cremation urn is buried. Plaques can also be used as memorial markers if your loved one’s ashes are placed in a columbarium. Your memorial options also include memorial benches, busts, pedestals, pedestal bench, cremation estates, and monuments.

At Chapel of the Chimes, we offer a number of different memorials that can be placed in our cemetery or memorial park in Hayward. Our memorials, funeral services, burial services, and cremation services can be customized to meet any religious, cultural, or ethnic needs in our community. For more information, call us today at (510) 398-6922.

What Are Some of the Reasons Families Are Choosing Cremation?

Cremation Services Hayward

When a loved one passes, the remaining family members must come together to decide what to do next. Many families choose traditional burial while many others choose cremation services near Hayward. Discover some of the reasons why some families choose cremation:

Honor a Loved One’s Wishes
Many people tell their family members what they want done after their passing. This often includes deciding between cremation and a traditional burial. If your elderly parent or loved one expressed a desire to be cremated after his or her passing, you should honor that wish. A funeral home can help you learn about choosing cremation.

Cut Down on Expenses
Did you know that cremation typically costs less than a traditional burial service? Funerals cost an average of around $6,500 while cremation costs an average of around $1,600. Many families consider cremation because it allows them to cut down on expenses and spend more on other aspects of memorial services. Your family might want to choose cremation because it is a more cost-effective option.

Choose a Greener Option
Going green has become an important issue for people of all ages. If your deceased loved one had a passion for environmentally-friendly products and services, you might want to consider cremation instead of a traditional burial. Along with taking up space in the ground, traditional burials also use chemicals that are not always green. Cremation is a greener option that appeals to many families.

Have Ashes to Split Amongst Family Members
Unlike traditional burial, cremation results in ashes that can be taken home with the family. It is customary for family members to keep their loved one’s ashes after cremation. Ashes can be divided into multiple urns so that multiple family members can have a keepsake. Family members can also place ashes in jewelry, memorial benches, and more.

Is your family considering cremation for a deceased loved one? Chapel of the Chimes Hayward can help you through the planning process. Learn about our funeral planning and cremation services by contacting us at (510) 398-6922.

Exploring Options for Personalized Memorials

Losing a loved one is never easy. Planning a funeral or memorial service is a helpful way to express your grief and honor your loved one after he or she passes away. Here at Chapel of the Chimes Hayward, we provide a variety of personalized memorial items to help you honor your loved one and create a meaningful spot where you can come anytime you want to feel close to him or her.

You can select a memorial bench that can hold your loved one’s ashes as well as a plaque featuring their name, birth date, death date, and other important information. Flat monuments and pedestals can also honor your deceased loved one. If you are choosing cremation, a cremation island can serve as a special place where you can feel close to your loved one after they have passed.

Do you want to get more details? Contact Chapel of the Chimes Hayward to learn more about our personalized memorial items that can honor your loved ones. Call us at (510) 398-6922.

Honoring Lost Loved Ones in the Digital Age [INFOGRAPHIC]

Though technology has progressed a great deal in recent years, it’s still just as difficult as ever to cope with the loss of a loved one. No amount of social media or photographs can bring your loved one back, but technology can help with the way that the deceased is remembered by his or her friends and family. From digital slideshows at the funeral home after the burial to an online memorial to your loved one, technology can sometimes help with grief. When a loved one dies, you may also want to have his or her social media accounts closed. Facebook allows a person’s profile to be turned into a memorialization, while other social media sites require a bit of proof before a profile can be closed. Take a look at this infographic from Hayward funeral home Chapel of the Chimes to learn more about honoring your loved one in the digital age. Please feel free to pass this information along to your friends and relatives.

Tips for Supporting a Friend Who Is Grieving

If a friend has recently lost a loved one, it can be difficult to know how to offer support. Our Hayward grief counseling services can help people during this time, but you can also help your friend by being there, listening, and helping. Follow these tips if your friend is grieving:

Be There to Listen

It is normal to want to say something that can help a loved one when he or she is feeling upset. When a loved one experiences a loss, it is more important to think about the best ways to listen instead of the right things to say. Your loved one may want to talk about the deceased and how they are feeling now. Being there to listen will help your friend through the grieving process. Even if your friend does not want to talk, you can be there to simply offer support and assurance.

Offer to Help With Responsibilities

Losing a loved one can make a person feel like their world has suddenly changed in a significant way, yet people must keep up with regular responsibilities during this time. You can support your grieving friend by offering to help with these responsibilities. This can include household chores like cleaning or buying groceries as well as handling phone calls and taking on funeral arrangements. Ask your friend what you can do to help during this difficult time.

Attend the Funeral

Even if you were not very close with the deceased, it might be a good idea to attend the funeral in order to provide support to your friend. If your friend wants you to be at the funeral, make sure you take time off so you can attend. You might want to arrive to your friend’s home early to provide support before the funeral and offer to spend time with him or her after the service as well.

Learn more about grief counseling and funeral planning by contacting Chapel of the Chimes Hayward today. You can give us a call at (510) 398-6922 for information about cremation and burial options.

Page 1 of 47
1 2 3 4 5 6 7  . . . 43 44 45 46 47   Next

Hours of Operation

  • 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM Sunday
  • 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM Monday
  • 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM Tuesday
  • 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM Wednesday
  • 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM Thursday
  • 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM Friday
  • 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM Saturday