Reviews

Here’s what some satisfied customers have to say

Some of these reviews were submitted on other websites. We are not affiliated with or sponsored by these websites.

23 Reviews | write a review

default image

The grounds are well kept and green

How do you review a cemetery? And what cemetery would be so evil that they'd screw over a grieving family? Who knows, maybe they all squeeze us for an extra grand or two, but we wouldn't know because we're naturally too emotionally drained to notice. But Chapel o' da Chimes is cool. They seemed to make it easy for us. My folks were smart enough (or morbid enough depending on how you see it) to pre-pay their funeral costs years ago so they only spent about half as much as the not so smart (or morbid) folks. This place is actually very pleasant. Most tombstones lay flat so from a distance, it actually looks like a park. In fact, people bring food and BBQ here when they visit their loved ones who've moved to a "better place". The grounds are well kept and green. Tall ass eucalyptus trees serve as easy landmarks to locate your peeps. So if you wanna bury your dead the right way, check this place out. RIP Monserrat F. Espiritu "Our shining light" We miss you mom.

greg e. greg e. September 20, 2006

default image

They were kind enough to remember special little mementos …

I echo my brother's sentiments and can only add that the employee's here offer empathy, not just great service. They maintain their distance during all the services but you know you're in good hands. After Mom's service, one of the employees pulled me aside and handed me a bag - Mom's favorite blanket, the scarves she knitted and a shawl that Tatay gave to her, plus a few other things we left at the hospital when they received her. They were kind enough to remember these special little mementos that we forgot in the moment. They also offered a group grief counseling session, with a staff member and a volunteer therapist which was extremely helpful for us to hear that all these crazy range of emotions we experienced were normal. Both the therapist and the staff member were very open with sharing their personal experiences and ways that they honored their deceased family members.

Theda E. Theda E. September 30, 2006

default image

We were constantly checked up on to see how we were all …

i just attended my grandma's funeral here today and i was truly moved with the entire experience. it was definitely a day i wasn't looking forward to and i wish we could get the family together under better circumstances but this is life. i'm not so sure how one can work in this kind of environment from day to day but we each have different things that make us happy. we were set up in a large private chapel with MORE BOXES OF KLEENEX THAN I HAVE EVER SEEN IN MY LIFE! the reverend hill who spoke for the service was truly amazing to listen to. every word he said grabbed me and made me feel safe and at ease. the things he said about my grandma were so kind and touching and i even learned some things i never knew about her and her past. he definitely knew what to say to put us all at peace with the recent events and that she will always be here with us. after the service they provided us a private dining room where we brought some homemade sandwiches, salads and snacks. it was great to have everything we needed at our disposal and didn't have to clean up a thing. throughout our time there we were constantly checked up on to see how we were all doing and feeling. my grandma is now laid to rest along side her husband and someday the rest of my family will be as well. that's something i don't want to have to deal with or think about for a very long time though!!

Scotty D. Scotty D. April 1, 2008

default image

It’s a friendly place. The staff was curteous and …

Recently we had a viewing and cremation for my mom here. It's a friendly place. The staff was curteous and professional. They were very accomodating. They allowed us to pick up mom's ashes early and allow a change in arrangements at the last minute. I do have an objection to the make up. But then again, if dead people look liking living people, that would be wierd.

Jeff L. Jeff L. October 20, 2008

default image

I was stunned by how bright and beautiful the grounds are …

You never want to say goodbye to someone you love. But in time, we have to. Death is a part of life. So when my dad passed away, I was mentally prepared, though emotionally less so. Still, I was grateful dad and my mom prepaid for plots here at Chapel of the Chimes for that awful day when passing from this life. That decision was an act of love - it was one less major worry. We could grieve and support each other more easily during the crisis. Dad had a crazy sense of humor. He always joked that in lieu of the money spent for a classy funeral, he as a Navy man, wouldn't have minded his body being thrown into the sea. Then maybe, he'd be eaten by a shark, and thus possibly we would buy and cook the shark and end at our dinner table. Uh - sorry dad, mom wouldn't let you have it done that way. Thankfully, Dad also agreed to do whatever mom wanted. Chapel of the Chimes counselors did a great job accommodating our requests. You can actually do everything here - from the mortuary services to the viewing and memorial service, and then take a short drive or walk to the loved one's final resting place. Ours was more complicated. My dad's mortuary//viewing was at a Catholic run mortuary in downtown Hayward, his funeral was one of the local Catholic Churches, and we made the 3 mile parade of 100 cars here on a weekday. My dad was a military man courtesy of the Navy and Army, got his 21 gun salute, flag ceremony and playing of Taps. Chapel of the Chimes did a nice job coordinating everything, including the paperwork. I am still stunned by the custom of watching your love one getting buried. It's our Filipino tradition to throw flowers onto the grave as it is being lowered. (By the way, it's an extra \$500 to have this done). My mom nearly fainted in sadness, with sobs abounding, we knew in body my dad was gone. But in the subsequent days and weeks that followed, my mom, the family, and friends who have visited there have said, "what a bright and relaxing place, definitely a classy tribute to those who have come and gone before us." I was stunned by how bright and beautiful the grounds are kept. Lots of people have silk flower on their loved ones resting places. With tall trees and the Hayward Hills as a backdrop, this is a place where people can go and meditate and have quiet time with those resting here. So thank you Chapel of the Chimes. I guess I'll be seeing you whenever I'm in town.

Will M. Will M. April 27, 2010

default image

Never had a bad experience at Chapel of the Chimes

Never had a bad experience at chapel of chimes. Seems like they keep the place well maintained.

Jeremiah B. Jeremiah B. May 2, 2011

default image

Chapel of the Chimes, Hayward has “…an amazing staff. …

I couldn't imagine having a bad experience at a Chapel. And fortunately for my grandpas funeral in April, for my family and I, it wasn't too rough of an experience. The staff was very hospitable and accommodated our needs and wants. Each family has their own set of customs, traditions, rules, and regulations... etc. Ours was no different. These guys have an amazing staff. Kind, caring, considerate and sympathetic. During the viewing, one of the staff help us dress the body and brought it out for viewing. And on the day of the cremation, the same staff member helped us thru the process and all its pre/post necessities. They also assisted in setting up the viewing area (flowers, candles, etc..) They also had signs on their driveway to direct foot and vehicle traffic to the appropriate viewing area. No mixed crowds here... for the most part it was very organized and extremely well coordinated. Obviously a rough time for my family... but Chapel of the Chimes and its staff made the last goodbye to our fallen family member a little easier. Thanks a Million Chapel of Chimes!

August 15, 2011

default image

Chapel of the Chimes 5-Star Review on Yelp

I had a great experience at Chapel Of the Chimes, Arlene and the General manager took excellent care of my family during our difficult time of need. My Mother was the very first of my family to get buried out there. I was only 5 years old. 40 years later, my mother's last sibling, my favorite aunt was laid to rest and I feel good knowing my brothers and I will ultimately get the paramount service as well. God Bless.

Jacqueline's Spot Jacqueline's Spot April 29, 2012

default image

5-Star Review on Yelp!

Matthew I. left us a 5-star review on Yelp!

Matthew I. Matthew I. December 8, 2012

default image

Thank you Debbie, for getting the military honors for us

Thank you Debbie, for getting the military honors for us

Eileen Mahaffy Hayward , CA August 11, 2013

default image

Thank You

Thank You

Carol M. Union City , CA November 14, 2013

default image

A “wonderful experience” with Chapel of the Chimes, Hayward

My family and I had a wonderful experience with Chapel of the Chimes. My mother-in-law was laid to rest at the Chapel of the Chimes in Hayward.Gale Lighthall assisted us during this difficult period. He was professional and thorough as well as sensitive during this trying time.

Barbara Sylvester Fremont , CA November 26, 2013

default image

A Testimonial for staff member Shannon

Hi Shannon

Thank you for arranging a wonderful service for my Mom. I did not see you after our service, to thank you personally. I did talk to David Martin, and in Chinese tradition, we do give a red envelope to those who have helped in my Mom's funeral service. I gave David, the associate who was helping with the casket today, and you a red envelope for good luck. If David has not given it to you yet, just follow up with him.

Raymond Hayward , CA December 4, 2013

default image

Your Thoughfulness Meant So Much

"I want to say "Thank You" for all that you have done for Josh and for the care that you and your staff have provided his mother."

Albert Bridges, Elder Dennis & Mrs. Darlene Range August 4, 2018

default image

Great Chapel of the Chimes Review

Chapel of the Chimes Hayward review:

August 4, 2018

default image

Thank You for the Wonderful Service

"My family and I would like to thank you for the wonderful service"

August 4, 2018

default image

Amazing Review of Chapel of the Chimes Hayward

"We cannot thank you enough"

August 4, 2018

default image

Thank you so much!

"Thank you so much"

M. B. M. B. August 4, 2018

default image

Chapel of the Chimes Review

Read this thank you card of Chapel of the Chimes Hayward:

August 4, 2018

default image

Positive Note from the Perez Family

"Thank you for all of your help in organizing Natalie's funeral arrangement."

Perez Family Perez Family August 4, 2018

default image

Positive Feedback of Chapel of the Chimes Hayward

"I want to thank you for the way you handled the plans for my mom's services."

Sandy Beaman Sandy Beaman August 4, 2018

default image

Thank You for Everything!

"We would like to thank you so very much for all your help in planning our father's memorial service."

The Hanson Family The Hanson Family August 4, 2018

default image

We Will Always Remember Your Kindness

"Thank you for all your help"

August 4, 2018


Please give your Testimonial a Title.

Please enter your Full Name.

Please enter your e-mail address. This information will not be publicly displayed.

Please enter the Location or the Product being Reviewed.

1 - 5 out of 5, where 5/5 is the best and 1/5 is the worst.

Please enter your Testimonial.

Recent Posts

Popular Posts

categories

Archives